Apr 302013

Daniel Bova wins men’s golf Champions of Character award


Zach Shore | @Jersey_SID88


4/29/2013 12:06:49 PM

ORLANDO, Fla. – On Sunday, The Sun Conference announced the 2012-13 men’s golf Academic All-Conference and Champion of Character award winners at a banquet hosted by Mystic Dunes Resort and Golf Club.

The Champion of Character award is given to the athlete that best exemplified the five core values of the NAIA, which are integrity, respect, responsibility, sportsmanship and servant leadership.

This year’s winner of the award was Daniel Bova of Warner University. Bova has won the Warner University men’s golf team Champion of Character Coaches Award for two consecutive years and is Warner’s lone Academic All-Conference selection.

“Daniel is constantly leading by example both on and off the course,” stated Warner Head Coach Craig Wilsman. “He organizes extra team get-togethers and enthusiastically helps lead the team when we go to fill in divots after our golf tournaments. He has always fulfilled his role on the team to the fullest of his abilities and is always encouraging the guys to give their best. He has also volunteered to tutor kids in the area and has helped wrap Christmas gifts for the underprivileged children by assisting the Lake Wales Care Center.”

Student-athletes were recognized for their achievements in the classroom led by SCAD Savannah who placed six student-athletes on the Academic All-Conference team with Southeastern and Webber International close behind with four each. To qualify for Academic All-Conference honors, a student-athlete must have completed at least two full semesters at the nominating institution and carry a 3.5 of better cumulative grade point average.

The Sun Conference Championship begins today with a continuous 36-holes on with the final 18 holes to be contested tomorrow.

For more tournament information and results, click here.

Daniel Bova, Warner

Frederic Thiriez, Southeastern
Steven Wright, Southeastern
Mark Lyszczasz, Southeastern
Isaac Spencer, Southeastern
Daniel Bova, Warner
Ryan Carter, St. Thomas
Jakob Good, St. Thomas
Neale Barnes, SCAD- Savannah
Andres Escobar, SCAD- Savannah
Rasa Lazarevic, SCAD- Savannah
Tom Mather, SCAD- Savannah
Billy Nisbet, SCAD- Savannah
Dylan O’Leary, SCAD- Savannah
John Boer, Webber International
Alex Carpenhall, Webber International
Gustaf Hydbom, Webber International
Franciso Rivero, Webber International
Harrison Steel, Johnson & Wales
Jason Harris, Johnson & Wales
Kris Karlsson, Embry-Riddle
Sneh Patel, Embry-Riddle