Jul 042012

Inaugural Mayor’s Cup Matches

Bent Pine Golf Club
Saturday & Sunday, August 4 & 5, 2012

The Indian River Golf Foundation (IRGF) presents a golf competition conducted each summer bringing together area golf professionals matched matched with leading amateur golfers for the purpose of FUN competition and promoting adult volunteer opportunities in IRGF Junior Golf Programs.

Winning team receives the
Alex MacWilliam, Sr. Trophy

…..named in memory of Alex MacWilliam, Sr., a long-time resident of Vero Beach, an icon of community service…..a former Mayor of Vero Beach, State Representative and golf enthusiast who served as Property Manager during the early years at Riomar Country Club founded in 1919.

Mayor’s Cup Committee:

Bill Mallon & Bobby Bird, Amateur Team Captains
Pat Gorman & Joe Kern, Professional Team Captains
Roger Van Dyke, President
Indian River Golf Foundation

Two of the objectives of the Indian River Golf Foundation are:

  1. To promote excellence in player development and
  2. Establish Major Golf Events in Indian River County

The Mayor’s Cup Matches is an annual 36 hole golf tournament between the best players from Indian River County (12 professionals and 12 amateurs) in a two-man team format (12 teams). Each team will be comprised of one golf professional and one amateur.

The purpose of the Mayor’s Cup Matches is to encourage participation and cohesiveness among competitive golfers and to promote awareness of volunteer opportunities in IRGF player development programs.


By invitation, Club Professionals are determined by player performance in National PGA events, South Florida PGA events and other recognized tournaments. The balance of the invitees will be determined by the Mayor’s Cup Professional Team Captains. The starting
field will be comprised of the first 12 professionals and alternates responding to the Mayor’s Cup invitation. To declare intentions, professionals are to notify Pat Gorman at Bent Pine (567-6922) or e-mail at pgorman@bellsouth.net . Note: As substitutes, Assistant
Golf Professionals will be eligible. Directors of Golf and Head Golf Professionals will be given first priority in determining the starting field.

By invitation, amateurs are determined by player performance in USGA, FSGA and other recognized tournaments. The balance of the invitees will be determined by the Mayor’s Cup Amateur Team Captains. The starting field will be comprised of the first 12 amateurs
and alternates responding to the Mayor’s Cup invitation. To declare intentions, amateurs are to notify Bill Mallon (299-1404) or e-mail at wjmallon33@aol.com


The competition will be conducted using the following format of play:

  1. Scratch: All players shall play with “0” handicap unless they have a + handicap.
  2. Teams: The 12 club professionals will be ranked. The amateurs will be ranked. Teams will be made up by a weighted draw based upon these rankings.
  3. Divisions: The 12 teams will compete in one division. Day 1 – Better Ball scores (18 holes) Day 2 – Team Scramble (18 holes)
  4. Tie for 1st Place – In the event of a first place tie – Sudden-Victory Playoff.
  5. Awards – Winning team receives replicas of the Alex MacWilliam, Sr. Trophy.
  6. Awards Presentation: The Mayor of Vero Beach along with representatives of the Alex MacWilliam, Sr. Family to present the trophy to the winning team.


Practice Round – During week prior to Matches if not played earlier as determined by Club.

Wednesday, August 1st
Pairings Drawing – 5:00 p.m. / Bent Pine Golf Shop
Notification to Participants

Saturday, August 4th
Player Check-In / Distribution of Team Caps / Bag Tags
Round #1 –1:00 p.m. Tee Times
18 Hole Better Ball Competition
Refreshments on Course
Cash/Signature Bar

Sunday, August 5th
Round #2 – 8:30 A.M. Shotgun Start
18 Hole Team Scramble Competition
Refreshments on Course
Buffet Luncheon
Awards Presentation
Mayor of Vero Beach / Representative of the MacWilliam Family
An Official Commemorative Program will be available with the story behind the Alex MacWilliam, Sr. Trophy, line-up of participants and a listing of past winning teams.